Master of Cermenoies | Keynote Speakers | Panalists

Master of Ceremonies

Dr. Zhang

Dr. Zhang Xiang Chen
Director General, Department for WTO Affairs, MOFCOM

Dr. Zhang Xiang Chen is head of the WTO department of the Chinese Ministry of Commerce and Director General of China’s WTO Notification and Enquiry Center. He holds a Doctor of Law from Beijing University and was a senior visiting scholar in the International Relations Institute of John Hopkins University in 2002. From 1992 to the December of 2001, Dr. Zhang Xiang Chen was involved in the negotiations to resume the contracting party status in GATT and enter the WTO. His main writings include “Political and Economic Relations between Developing Countries and WTO” and “Sino-American Relations after China’s Entry into WTO.”

Keynote Speakers

Mr. Yi Xiao Zhun,
Vice Minister of MOFCOM

Mr. Yi Xiaozhun has been the vice minister of the Ministry of Commerce of the People’s Republic of China since October 2005. Since April 2005, he has also acted as the deputy representative in international trade negotiations. Prior to his various duties in the Ministry of Commerce, Mr. Yi Xiaozhun’s positions included director and deputy director of the Department of International Trade & Economic Affairs, Ministry of Foreign Trade and Economic Cooperation. He has also worked for the Commercial Counselor’s Office of the Embassy of the People’s Republic in the United States and he has served with the International Liaison Department of the Ministry of Economy Trade and the Beijing Municipal Institute of Economics. Mr. Yi Xiaozhun received his bachelor’s degree in economics at Peking University and his master’s degree in economics at Nankai University.

Sir David

Sir David John
KCMG, Chairman, BSI Group

Sir David John was elected Chairman in July 2002 after joining the BSI Board in May 2002 as a non-executive director. He is currently Chairman of Premier Oil plc and Balfour Beatty plc. Sir David is the immediate past chairman of the BOC group.

Scott McNealy
Chairman of the Board of Directors, Sun Microsystems, Inc., Chairman of Sun Federal, Inc.

Scott McNealy, 51, is chairman of the board of directors of Sun Microsystems, a company he co-founded in 1982 and chairman of Sun Federal Inc. From 1984 to 2006, McNealy served as chief executive officer and chairman at Sun, steering the Company to constant innovation in open, network computing.

Crawford Beveridge
Executive Vice President and Chairman, Sun, EMEA, APAC and the Americas

Crawford W. Beveridge, 60, is a technology industry veteran with more than 35 years of experience. His role as Executive Vice President and Chairman, EMEA, APAC and the Americas, is to represent Sun's interests in geographies outside of the US, particularly in high growth geographies or where Sun has significant investment, such as the EU, Brazil, Russia, India and China.

Additional Keynote Speakers Include:

  • Dr. B.K. Gairola, Director General, National Informatics Center (NIC)
  • Patrick John Rata, Counselor, Trade and Environment Division, World Trade Organization (WTO)
  • Jack Sheldon, Strategic Development Manager, International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC)
  • Manuel Lousada Soares, Deputy Secretary for Industrial Tehnology, Ministery of Development, Industry and Foreign Trade, Brazil
  • The Vice Minister of State Intellectual Property Office (SIPO), People’s Republic of China

Panelists Include:

  • The Director General, Ministry of Information Industry (MII), People’s Republic of China
  • The Director General, State Intellectual Property Office (SIPO), People’s Republic of China
  • Hu Caiyong, Chief Executive Officer, Ch2000 Software Technology
  • Dr. Michael Fröhlich, Legal Adviser, Attorney-at-law, European Telecommunications Standards Institute (ETSI)
  • Rishab Ghosh, Senior Researcher, University of Maastricht, Netherlands
  • Qin Hai, Director General, Policy Planning Department, State Council Information Technology Office (SCITO)
  • Goh Seow Hiong, Director of Software Policy (Asia), Business Software Alliance (BSA)
  • Mei Yong Hong, Director General, MOST
  • John Ketchell, Director, European Committee for Standardization/Information Society Standardization System (CEN/ISSS)
  • Wen Ku, Director General, Ministry of Information Industry (MII)
  • Guo Xiao Ming , Chief of Law Department, Chief Legal Officer, IPR Director, ZTE Corporation
  • Shang Ming, Director General, Department of Treaty and Law, MOFCOM
  • Professor Zhang Nai Gen, Director of the International Law Study Center and Director of the Intellectual Property Study Center, Fudan University
  • Zhang Ping, Professor, Beijing University
  • Randall Radar, Judge, US Court of Appeals, Federal Circuit
  • Natalie Sunker, Deputy Director, Intellectual Property, Policy & Legislation, Department of Trade and Industry, Republic of South Africa
  • Richard P. Suttmeier, Professor, Political Science, University of Oregon
  • Andrew Updegrove, Attorney, Gesmer Updegrove LLP
  • Rakesh Verma, Additional Director General, Beureau of Indian Standards
  • David Vivas-Eugui, Program Manager, Intellectual Property, Technology and Services, International Centre for Trade and Sustainable Development, (ICTSD)
  • Yin Xintian, Director General, State Intellectual Property Organization (SIPO)
  • Wang Xiao Ye, Professor of Law, Chinese Academy of Social Sciences